Members’ Awards

ACA Members’ Awards are a way of recognising the work of individuals and organisations whose names may not hit the headlines. They are very much the heroes and heroines of children’s arts.


The 2017 Members’ Awards were presented on 9 November 2017 at the Prince of Wales Theatre to:

Daphna Attias, Peut Être Theatre

Hollie Coxon and Anthony Hope, The Sunderland Empire Theatre Creative Learning Team

Jude Merrill, Outgoing artistic director of Travelling Light Theatre

Kate Prince, ZooNation

Gillian Rennie, Seven Stories


5d3b4921-web 5d3b4937-web 5d3b4961-web 5d3b4953-web 5d3b4973-web 5d3b5029-web

The 2016 Members’ Awards were presented on 10 November 2016 at the Radio Theatre, BBC Broadcasting House, London, to:

Julian Butler, Composer

Nick Graham, Stage Manager at Polka Theatre for Children

Tom Jelley, Software Developer at Widgit, who helped develop a range of graphic symbol resources to help young children with learning disabilities understand and enjoy performances of music, ballet and pantomime.

Annemarie Macdonald, co-director of Theatre Alibi

Miao Miao Yu, Founder of Bach to Baby


5D3B3814-web 5D3B3825-web 5D3B3841-web 5D3B3867-web 5D3B3875-web (2)

The 2015 Members’ Awards were presented on 5th November 2015.

Carolyn Mairi L. Forsyth, Producer at the Unicorn Theatre,

Sahana Gero, creator of Heart Beat Music Academy and

Daniel Jamieson, playwright for Theatre Alibi.

To celebrate the 50th Anniversary of TIE, Trustees Awards went to internationally acclaimed playwrights,

Mike Kenny

Charles Way






The 2014 Members’ Awards were presented on 13 November 2014 at the Radio Theatre, BBC Broadcasting House, London, to

Lindsay Baker, Manager of The egg theatre, Bath

Rikki Beadle-Blair, AD Team Angelica

Benedict Eccles, Artistic Producer Sixth Sense Theatre for Young People

Annie James, Costume Supervisor Polka Theatre

Mandy Mallen, Head of Box Office Polka Theatre

Joss Matzen, Stage Manager and Designer M6 Theatre

The Oily Cart Creative Team



The 2013 Members’ Awards were presented at the Unicorn Theatre, London, to


DARYL BEETON, Artistic Director of Kazzum

JO BELLOLI, Early Years Theatre Specialist

LOUISE BETTS, Bath Festivals and 5x5x5=creativity

PEPE HART, Headteacher

SHARON SNAYLAM, Head of Department Leeds secondary school

IVAN STOTT, AD Hiccup Theatre




The 2012 Members’ Awards were presented on 20 October at BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly, London, to

Ellen Bianchini MBE, Founder of The Spark children’s arts festival

Toni Carter, Headteacher

Kate Cross, Director, the egg

Tara Hartley, Director, Musical Tree House

Maria Hayes, Artist

Claire Lawson, Teacher

Anthony Pedley, Actor

Peter Sanders, Headteacher

Tanny Stobart, Director, Play Torbay

Susan Stranks, Campaigner for children’s radio

David Turvey, Headteacher



The 2011 Members’ Awards were presented on 4 September at The Little Angel Theatre, London, to

Sue East, Headteacher, St Andrew’s CE Primary School, Bath

Chris Elwell, Half Moon Theatre

Suzie Lowe and Alexandra Hingst

Stewart and Mary McGill, Playbox Theatre

Di Murray

Roman Stefanski

Will Tuckett

Click here for details.




The 2010 Members’ Awards were presented by Shirley Hughes, the winner of that year’s J.M.Barrie Award, to:

Allie Spencer, Nottingham Playhouse

Big Brum Theatre in Education, Birmingham

Chris Thompson, The Place

Laura Jane Ogilvy, London Children’s Ballet

Penny Hay, 5x5x5=creativity

Stephen Midlane, Polka Theatre.

Click here for details.